Science Based Incubator Awards

The Technopolicy Network and the Centre for Strategy and Evaluation Services (CSES) are organizing the 2015 Best Knowledge Based incubator award. This leading incubator award is in its 13th year, with winners from countries all over the world, such as Portugal, USA, China, Belgium, Denmark and the United Kingdom. Last year Tecnosinos from Brazil was awarded the Best Science Based Incubator 2014.

This globally leading award is based on a benchmarking study by the Technopolicy Network, CSES and an expert jury evaluation. In addition to the Best Knowledge Based Incubator Award several other prizes are awarded, such as Best New Incubator. All knowledge based incubators (business incubators that are structurally related to a knowledge/research institution) are warmly invited to attend the competition.

This years winners will be announced at the 13th Annual Academic Entrepreneurship Conference  ‘Shaping Successful Academic Entrepreneurship’ to be held on november 2015 in São Leopoldo, Brazil. This year’s host will be Complexo Tecnológico Unitec, where TECNOSINOS Unitec Incubator is located. Tecnosinos Unitec Incubator is the 2014 winner in the award category “self-sustainability” and "knowledge-base element".



Do you like your incubator to be considered for an award? Join this global contest for incubators and compare our incubator's performance on a global scale!

Join this competition

Please complete and send the questionnaire before Friday 23 October 2015.


If you prefer to complete the paper version, please send an e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



In 2014 the prizes were awarded at the 12th Best Practices in Science Based Incubation conference in Enschede, The Netherlands. These were the winners in the different categories:



Best Science Based Incubator 2014
TECNOSINOS - Unitec Incubator  - São Leopoldo, Brazil



Best Self-Sustainability 2014
TECNOSINOS - Unitec Incubator  - São Leopoldo, Brazil



Best Growth 2014
I3P Torino  - Torino, Italy



Best Return on Investment 2014
Incubadora de Empresas da   Universidade de Aveiro  - Aveiro, Portugal



Best New Incubator 2014


- Gurgaon, India





Previous winners of the Best Science Based Incubator Award were:
2013  ATP Innovations, Australia

2011 Incubatore del Polo Tecnologico di Navacchio, Italy

2010  IPN Incubadora, Portugal

2009  @Wales Digital Media Initiative, United Kingdom

2008  Incubatore d' Impresa di Città della Scienza Spa, Italy

2007  Wallonia Space Logistics, Belgium

2006  First Flight Venture Centre, United States

2005  Symbion Science Park, Denmark

2004  13P (Politecnico di Torino), Italy

2003  Oxford BioBusiness Centre, United Kingdom

2002  Tsinghua Science Park, China

Technopolicy Tweets

TechnopolicyNet RT @StartupDelta: Had a truely inspiring session at the Erasmus Centre for Entrepreneurship; this is how you boost a startup ecosystem! htt…
TechnopolicyNet RT @Innovation360: Why startups fail - 42% due to lack of innovation and value add via @adamwoodsaus
TechnopolicyNet RT @StartupDelta: Dutch travel startup @TravelBirdNL raises €16,5M in funding from Rocket Internet #startups #NLTech
TechnopolicyNet RT @eppobruins: NL back at #5 of the EU #Innovation Scoreboard.
TechnopolicyNet RT @Kennispark: Introduction of Mofixx: an innovative solution for the medical sector: